, 751172, DIRECT, d4c29acad76ce94f

Salone Messenger

13th African Achievers’ Awards beckons

Post Views: 322
By admin 119 Views 6 Min Read
6 Min Read

The 13th Edition of the African Achievers’ Awards (AAA) announced its call for nominations May 1st, 2023, seeking applications into categories of its honorary roll call of distinguished persons of excellence.

The much awaited event will hold at the House of Parliament, The Palace of Westminster, United Kingdom England on July 14, 2023.

Indeed, the AAA, focusing on the African continent, recognizing exceptional Africans for their contribution to the growth and development of Africa, is one of the most prestigious awards in the world.

This year’s summit and awards ceremony provides a platform for industry leaders in Africa to converge, and discuss strategies towards sustainability in Africa. The theme for 2023 is: “Unlocking Sustainable Trade and Investment Opportunities in Africa – the PPP Approach”.

The Achievers are selected in the categories of: Community development, Arts & Culture, Business & Entrepreneurship Agriculture, Community Service, Rural development, Education.

This year’s edition is hosted by the Right Honorable

Lord Simon Woolley, Member of the House of Lords, UK Parliament. Palace of Westminster. Lord Woolley was the chair of the Government of the United Kingdom Race Disparity Unit Advisory Group until July 2020.

He is a British politician, activist, and the founder and director of Operation Black Vote and Trustee of the charity Police Now. Lord Woolley is first Black Principal of the Homerton College, Cambridge University. Woolley has been a crossbench member of the House of Lords since October 2019.

In line with its tradition of esteemed jury of note, the AAA announced it’s judges for the 2013 edition. They are: Former President of Mauritius, H.E. Dr. Bibi Ameenah Firdaus Gurib-Fakim; Cabinet Member for Community Safety,

Dr. Susan Jumoke Fajana-Thomas OBE, DCL. Chairperson AAA and Former Trade Adviser on Infrastructure at the Department of International Trade (DIT) of the British High Commission in Ghana, Selork Kofi Dake.

Other esteemed members of the jury for the 2023 AAA are: Founder of Wintrade Global, Dr. Yvonne Thompson, CBE, FRSA, Deputy Lieutenant for the King for Greater London and Dr. Rex Idaminabo, FRSA.

Dr. Tonye Rex Idaminabo FRSA is a Reputation management expert, lawyer and serial entrepreneur recognised by Forbes and Avance Media.

Dr. Rex is the CEO of Reputation Poll International, a developmental branding and business innovation agency who has made indelible marks in creating a new image for Africa through the success stories of the African Achievers Awards annual event, now in its 13th year.

Dr. Gurio-Fakim has also been the recipient of various international awards including the L’Oreal-UNESCO Award for Women in Science (2007), Laureate for the National Economic and Social Council (2007), the CTA / NEPAD / AGRA / RUFORUM for ‘African Women in Science’ and the African Union Award for Women in Science.

She was also made Commander of the Order of the Star and Key of the Indian Ocean (CSkK) by President Anerood Jugnauth in 2008 for her contribution in the education and the sc entific sector. She was awarded the Order of the ‘Chevalier de l’Ordre des Palmes Academiques’ by the Government of France in 2009

Dr. Susan Jumoke Fajana-Thomas OBE, DCL, is Cabinet member for community safety and she was recently awarded an Order of the British Empire for services to local government and gender equality in King Charles’s first New Year’s Honours List.

Dr. Susan has enjoyed a career spanning more than three decades in the public, first as a Television presenter,community Communication consultant, turned activist and politician which has seen her become a multi platform speaker and communicator. She is a Member of Hackney Council and the former civic Mayor of the borough. In 2018 she was named in 100 Most Reputable Africans alongside three African Presidents.

Mr. Selork Kofi Dake is a former Trade Adviser on Infrastructure at the Department of International Trade (DIT) of the British High Commission in Ghana where he was the Lead on high value construction Projects portfolio including airports, ports, roads, real estate, water and railways.

He is currently the exclusive Africa Representative and Director for Africa of the Hong Keng and Guangzhou based China Arab Africa Business Union (CAABU) fostering win-win commercial partnerships between businesses within the 3 regions. He is a British Government Chevening Scholar and an accomplished FOI broker within the West African Region.

Dr. Yvonne Thompson, CBE, FRSA has worked with many public bodies and chaired or served on the boards of numerous organisations, including government agencies. In February 2016, she was appointed chair of The Radio Academy, UK. Yvonne Thompson received the European Women Cf Achievement Award in 2001.

In the 2003 Queen’s Birthday Honours she was appointed a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) for Services to Black and Ethnic Minority Business.

Over the years, the Awards event has honoured and celebrated great African trailblazers whose works have had a meaningful impact on development in Africa. Former laureates include worthy African political leaders, exceptional young achievers, passionate and dedicated community builders, and captains of industries.

Stay Updated

Share this Article
By admin
Salone Messenger is a Global Multimedia and Public Relation Firm based in Sierra Leone with the latest news and information, on top stories, business, politics, entertainment and more